Happy New Year, welcome 2013

Not many of our running buddies in town, but wildman Steve Shaffer did show up to run with us Sunday afternoon.  Dry enough to run the South Farm roads today. About 46°F, but not windy, and the sun was shining for a changed. Nice. Steve started with us, but did not go as far today, not sure what he got in. I went just over 7.5 miles and Joseph got in just over 9 miles.   Headed out at a 7:30ish pace, then picked it up. The next couple were 6:40-6:45. Joseph was far in front of me today. I followed him over to the XC course, which he ran on. I ran part of it, but it was so wet there, I just turned around and went back to the gravel roads. According to my Nike watch, my pace was considerably slower the rest of the way. Same for Joseph. When he got through, his watch said his last few miles were done at a pace slower than he ever runs. So who knows.  I have to say, thus far, I am not at all happy with the new Nike watches. We each have one, but only one of us can upload runs to the Nikeplus.com web site from my computer, despite us having our own accounts. Supposedly, we should both be able to do this, but so far all the Nike reps have been able to do is delete all my runs that I posted this last month from the web site. Gee, thanks. Beyond that though, the instant pace give is completing meaningless. Do you want to know what pace you are running while you are running? Don’t get this watch. The Nike technical reps have given me all kinds of bull about how it constantly changes, blah, blah, blah.  The problem is not that the instant pace changes a lot when I run, but rather, that is just completely wrong and does not give me any idea of how fast I am really going. For example: along the way during a run the pace may say 6:08 continuously for a mile. After the run, when checking my average pace per mile, that mile pace might be anywhere from 6:51 to 7:29. USELESSSSS. Not happy. I don’t think it is as accurate as the Garmin I had that died either. Darn.

Monday, New Year’s Eve! Gloomy overcast day. About 50°F, but seemed colder. Joseph and I decided to take today and Tuesday off from running. Instead, on Monday we got in a most excellent upper body and core workout!!! Yeah baby. Seriously good.

Tuesday, even if we had planned on running, we would not have gone today. Rained all freaking day! Good weather to stay inside and draw weird stuff. Have my wood stove going. Feels great.

Got a 6.6 mile run in Wednesday afternoon with Nathan and Joseph. Chilly today, or at least I was. I wore running tights, long sleeves, hat,  and gloves. Wished I had short sleeves on by about 3 miles. The other two posers wore shorts. We hit the campus, downtown, and some random streets here and there. Pretty easy run, we all ran together much of way until about the last couple of miles when Joseph and I picked it up a little. Nathan was not overly far behind. Ended up running the route at about a 7:15 pace according to the Nike watches. Measured this course in the past with my Garmin watch and always got 6.73 miles. Today, I got 6.52 on my Nike watch and Joseph got 6.63 miles on his Nike watch. Who knows. We ran together the entire way.

Thursday afternoon,  I ran with Joseph in Longmeadow neighborhood. Chilly again, mid 40’s. Wanted to compare our watches again, but mine died right before we were about to start. Thought it was charged, but apparently not good enough, despite the fact that it said full. ?? Anyway, we jogged a mile, then did some tempo type intervals around the 1.25 mile loop. First loop we were 7:13 and 7:16 (I was 7:16). Rested about 2 minutes, then went again. Joseph was 7:04 and I was 7:19. Another slight rest, then a fast 2 minute run, then jogged for 4 minutes, then fast 2 minute run. Not terrible. I have actually felt weird this week with some slightly swollen lymph nodes, which has made the running more difficult than usual. So, not can’t complain too much.

Ran a little over 4 miles Friday afternoon on the south farm. By myself today. Finally got my new shoes in from Eastbay.com. Took two weeks! Normally, I get stuff from them within a couple of days! Anyway, since I was running on gravel, I tried out the Saucony Xodus 3.0 shoes. Verdict? Ok. Not nearly as nice a shoe as my old Saucony Progrid Ride 4. The Xodus shoes felt much heavier and stiffer. Maybe they will loosen up. Will try out the Brooks Pure Flow this week. Tried them on and they felt ridiculously wonderful! Very comfortable to my feet. If they feel this good while running, I am going to be happy as clam. Back to the run. According to the fickle god of running, Nike, I ran the route at a 7:00 pace. Again, who knows. Not really happy with this watch. I will say it was pretty good one day on the track. Today, mile splits were 6:58, 6:48, 6:58, and 7:19 (plus 6:51 for the final 0.13). The intant pace given for the first two miles seemed believable, as the first half mile was in the mid 7’s, then the second half was in the mid 6’s (I always do the first half mile slower), and the 2nd mile was around 6:42-6:48 most of the way. I then picked it up for the third mile (I thought), but my average pace of 6:58 certainly did not indicate that. Of course, the instant pace did not help at all. I glanced at it numerous times along that 3rd mile, and at no time did the pace given exceed 5:50. It fluctuated from 5:36 to 5:50.  But, mostly it stayed at a particular pace for a one minute or more, which indicated to me that it was certainly not instant, and obviously not accurate. My fourth mile was 7:19, and again, the instant pace was far off being between 6:05 and 6:26. Anyway, very annoying.

Saturday, chilly and overcast early, then rain most of day. Should have run early, but didn’t, so no run today. Looking good for Sunday though, will meet at South Farm parking area at 3 pm for a run….

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

