Noxubee National Wildlife Refuge

Sunday, Joseph and I  met Max and Brent at the South Farm at about 5 pm. I rode my bike, and they ran the South Farm roads. Nobody went crazy, even Joseph took it relatively easy. Good idea after the good 10 miler the day before. After the run, Juan and Jorge stopped by for a bit to say hello. The cool Colombian kids!

Max and Brent sporting the Starkville Striders skull and cross bones shirts

Max and Brent sporting the Starkville Striders skull and cross bones shirts

Monday, Joseph ran and I biked while he did some mile repeats out here in Sessums. Short breaks between each of 3 mile repeats, which were 5:26, 5:28, and 5:30. Then he did a fast 400, then two 800s at about 2:30 each. I biked and timed stuff. Nice day.

Tuesday, Got in a quick workout in the morn. Woke me up.

Wednesday, Me and the kid headed to McKee Park. I jogged a couple of miles with him as he warmed up, then I biked with him during some tempo stuff in Longmeadow. Actually, I ran mostly by myself at about a 7:30 pace, as Joseph was in front of me. No pain in the calf at all for the duration of the run. But, I did not want to push it, so the bike was next.  Joseph started out very good, first mile was probably too fast, 5:10, then 5:35 average for the next 1.5 miles. Then, he started slowing some, so I told him to stop a bit and walk. Then, he ran another 1.25 miles at 5:45 pace, then jogged back to the car. A  bunch of SHS runners were hanging out at the water fountain where we were parked.

Thursday, Joseph and I met Ravi at the South Farm for a run. Ravi ran over from his apartment. Halloween! We met early because of impending storms, and ran at 4 pm. It was already raining pretty good. I started out with them, but only for a bit because I did not want to push the calf too much. By a half mile, Joseph was well in front of both of us. He probably got in 5 or 6 miles. I was not running a lot slower than Ravi early on, 7:30ish, and felt pretty good. Then, at about 2 miles, super ouch! Fine, then suddenly not fine. So, a couple of miles at about 7:20-7:30 pace, then 3rd mile at 8 minute plus pace. I would not really call it a run on the way back, just a slow shuffle. It is amazing how when you have an injury, you try to find any possible way to run. Move your legs a different way, hit the ground differently, etc. I finally made it back, soaking wet! Some rude college student drivers on the farm today too, driving university vehicles and not slowing down or moving over on these super muddy gravelly roads! Thanks. One guy in particular was  annoyingly close. Ravi eventually made it back, then headed back to his apartment. Joseph showed up a few minutes later. By then, it was pouring rain in a sideways direction. Joseph also mentioned the guy in the MAFES truck who splattered him with mud both entering and later leaving the farm. Joseph also had problems just finishing up the run as a bunch of vet students ran the stop sign almost running him over. Thanks guys.

Got home and I did a really good upper body workout. Took at least an hour to finish. Did several sets of bench press, curls, dumbbell shoulder presses, pullups, some pushups, and various ab exercises. My calf was sore, but nowhere near as bad as it was after running on it last week. Did not ice it or anything. So, maybe some improvement!

Friday, Rest day for me. And food. With the reduced running, I have been working out a bit harder. As a result of not burning as many calories and also working out harder, am a good 10-15 pounds heavier than a couple of weeks ago! Some fat, but some muscle too. Before I strained my calf, I was down around 165 lbs, but am now closer to 180! My arms are bigger again. Doesn’t take long to pump back up. Crazy.

Saturday,  Several races this morn, of which some our running buds took part in. Of them, Meggan Franks again stood out as she placed 9th with a time of 2:49:28 at the Minneapolis Marathon! Also, our friend Robert Morgan ran a super awesome PR of 18:33 this morn at a 5k in Vardaman, MS. I can’t believe how much faster this crazy cat is running compared to just a few months ago when he was a slug! Way to to go Robert!

Drove out the Noxubee National Wildlife Refuge mid afternoon for a run with Joseph. I took my bike. Super windy out there! But, a gorgeous day with temps around 65°F. This is a great place to run with the lakes and woods to look at. Not too many cars either. Joseph was doing 10 miles again today, but we went a different direction this week heading past Lake Loakfoma. 5 miles out and then back. The 5 out were not too bad, but we had wind in our faces the entire way back, and it was hard even on the bike. Despite the wind, I thought Joseph had a good run as he ended up with 1:02:32. If it was not so windy, I think he would have been under an hour today. At one point at about mile 9, the wind was crazy. Not surprisingly, this was one of his slower miles. Breakdown was 6:45, 6:25, 6:24, 6:04, 6:05, 5:56, 6:14, 6:18, 6:27, and 5:54. I was pretty surprised that he was able to run any of his miles under 6 minutes against the wind, so that was cool.

When we got home, we both got in an upper body workout. He did pushups, pullups, dips, military presses, and I did curls (40 lb dumbbells, 15 reps, 4 sets), bench press (4 sets of 15-18 with 180 lbs), 3 sets of pullups, and some ab stuff. Ah.

WEEKLY WORKOUT SUMMARY

Sunday, PM 7 mile bike; Joseph, 7 mile easy run

Monday, PM – 6-7 mile bike; Joseph 3 X 1 mile at 5:29 pace + 1 X 400, 2 X 800 at 2:30 pace

Tuesday, PM – upper body workout

Wednesday, PM – 2 mile run, 6 mile bike; Joseph, 2 mile WU, 2.5 tempo + 1.25 mile tempo

Thursday, PM  – 3 mile run, upper body workout; Joseph 6 mile easy run

Friday – rest

Saturday, PM – 10 mile bike, upper body workout; Joseph, 10 mile run at 6:15 pace, upper body workout

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

