Humid as Hell in Starkville, MS

Monday, Lots of rain in the area this week, which makes getting a run in challenging. Especially when you have to work! Today, Joseph and I went at 4:30 PM, rather than later when it would be cooler, due to a big storm coming in. We ran out in the country in Sessums where we live. Yes, hot and humid! I had planned on doing at least 6, but ended up with about 4.5 miles at a 7:13 pace. Joseph had planned on doing 7 or 8, but he did about 6 instead. It was just too hot. He was supposed to be running easy today, and really every day right now, and maybe he was. He looked like was not pushing it. Even so, he average 6:18 per mile on this hot, humid afternoon. I thought he looked too hot, so told him that was enough. That storm that was coming? Well, it blew in hard around 6 PM and pretty much rained all night.

Tuesday, Rain in the forecast for the entire day. But, for some reason, it stopped for a couple of hours in the morning, so Joseph was able to squeeze in a quick 4 run at 6:22 pace before we headed to work. I did not run this morn. The rain let up by early afternoon, so we were able to run at 5 PM. It was only about 75° today, so that was nice. Somewhat windy too, but not bad. Jorge, Brent, and I ran thru the campus and Research Park. Neither of them ran yesterday, so they went farther, about 7 miles, but I split off just before 4 miles and finished up with 5.5 miles at 7:25 pace. Joseph also ran, but started late. He got in about 6 miles on the South Farm. Surprisingly, he said it was not overly muddy! After, he and Jorge did a few 200m strides. I did some random pushups.

rainy day!

rainy day!

Wednesday, No run today for me, but got in my regular workout after work. Joseph ran on his own today.

Thursday, ran 6 miles with Brent, Joseph, and Robert at 6:30 pm. Pretty hot, but not bad. Joseph and Brent quickly left us today, while Robert and I took it easy more or less. Robert was a little tight from doing some squats earlier, and after the tough 4th mile part of the run, he slowed up a good bit.  I picked it up running 7:01 for the 5th mile and 6:38 for the last mile, but averaged 7:15 for the entire route. Joseph added a couple miles on the end running at least 8 total, then threw in 6 X 100m strides. He has been looking really good lately, his form seems to be straightening out nicely.

Friday, Got up in the morn and did my “wake myself up” workout with pullups, pushups, curls, militaries and ab stuff. This is pretty quick routine with little rest between sets. Usually start with pullups (15-20 reps), jump down for about 70 pushups, roll over for several types of crunch type deals, jump up and grab the 40 lb dumbells for some military presses (usually about 30 reps wit this light weight), lower them and do 12-15 reps of curls, then drop one and do those oblique deals where you have the dumbbell in one hand and lower it up and down, then 25-30 dips, then repeat the entire process two or more times. This simple workout is quick and effective!

I did not run today. Joseph got in an easy morning run though. He also did some type of core workout this morn.

Saturday, Whoohoo! Joseph’s birthday today, 18 years old! Started the celebration with a morning run with the Boardtown group. Started the run with our buds Brent and Jorge up in the front, but Brent only went about 7.5 miles total, so he turned around at 3.25 and Jorge did 10 miles, so he turned around at 5 miles and came back. Joseph and Jorge were going a good bit faster than me, and by the time Joseph was at 5.5 miles, I did not see him again until finishing the run. He basically ran the nest 7.5 miles by himself, as did I. My pace was 7:20 today. Not bad. Joseph was around 6:40 average with minimal water breaks at 1st and 3rd water stops. I also did not hang out long at the water stops. Pretty good run. My knees get a bit sore, and I think its partly from my Ravennas that I am running in. They are stiff! But, seem to be better for my calf muscles, so I am hesitant to change right now.

Later that day, a very strange mix of folks come over for some burgers and to hang out. Mostly running folks, but also some of Joseph’s chums from school. We had some ice cream and stuff. Ate outside on the deck.

Sunday, Mighty hot!!! Started the day with some kayaking on Oktibbeha County Lake with fellow weird artist Laurie Burton. The lake itself is fairly boring and hot, but if you get in the back area, there is some cool stuff and a creek that feeds the lake. Later, we went running at 5:30 PM, which is really way too early in this heat. But, some Bug Camp kids were heading to my property for some insect collecting at around 7, so I needed to be there. The run, as expected, was crazy hot and humid! I only did 5 miles at a 7:20 pace. Brent and Joseph did 6 miles at about 7 flat pace.

The bug campers eventually showed up, at like 8:30 PM! I should have just ran at 7 PM, as the folks running this camp are always notoriously late. They stayed until about 11 PM.  The kids collected  insects on sheets suspended between trees with UV lights present to lure insects in, on trails, on plants, in rotting logs, and even in the pond. Pretty cool.

Monday, Started this Monday with pushup and some pull ups. The exercise woke me up a little anyway. At 7 PM, Joseph and I met Brent, Jorge, and newcomer, Trevon Strange for run through campus, the Research Park and part of town. Trevon is doing some type of internship at MSU this year. He is a student and XC runner at Tuskeegee University in Alambama. He was pretty excited to find some folks to run with, and we for sure have some people that will push him. It was again hot and humid. I know, go figure. My plan this summer is to pretty much take these runs pretty easy, looking for 7:00-7:30 type paces. My calf injury seems to be pretty much healed, but because I limited my runs for a few months to 5 miles or less and to 3 or 4 days, I lost quite a bit of fitness. Plus, gained weight. Still weighing about 180-183 lbs, up from my 163-165 last fall! Anyway, I find these hot humid days to be pretty tough right now! I did 5.5 miles today at a 7:28 mile pace. Joseph, Brent, and Jorge got in almost 7 miles with Joseph and Jorge finishing up first with a 6:49 average pace (pretty good easy run for this weather), and Brent finishing about 1 minute back. I branched off from them somewhere along the way. They said Trevon kept up for about 4 miles before falling back. He, not being familiar with Starkville yet, ended up coming back a slightly different way after having lost sight of the guys. When he finally showed up, he was very pumped and excited to have folks faster than him to run with. Apparently, his college XC team is not very strong. I suspect that if he can hang with our faster folks by summer’s end, he will impress some folks this fall.

Brent, Jorge, Joseph, and Trevon

Brent, Jorge, Joseph, and Trevon

Jorge, Joseph, and Trevon

Jorge, Joseph, and Trevon

Tuesday, Joseph and I got up at 5:45 and headed out for an easy run. With the heat and humidity, its hard for Joseph to get all of his mileage in during just one run a day, so he slplits some up. He did 4 this morn and will do another 6 or so this evening. I did a 5k this morn, and very slowly. Mainly just loosening up my legs from the last few day! And, WOW!! It was some kind of humid this morn. For people that don’t live in this area, there is simply no way to explain it. Kind of like running in a giant sauna maybe.

Brent’s birthday is today, and that wiley goofy joker is now 27. We grabbed some lunch with him and Jorge.

Happy birthday Brent Wallace...

Happy birthday Brent Wallace…

Wednesday, Well, planned on running at 7 pm, but a crazy local storm dropped down on us and the lightning scared us away. So, no run. Oh well.

Thursday, Got up early and paced Joseph on my bike while he did a tempo workout starting at 6 AM. Two mile warmup jog, some light stretching and water, then 4 miles faster, then right into a 2 mile cool down jog. Warmup was nice and easy, about 7:38 pace. Tempo was pretty good given the high humidity levels, with mile 1 at 5:28, mile 2 was 5:38 (really faster as it was an out and back course so he had to slow down for turn), mile 3 was 5:33, and mile 4 was 6:05. He started struggling with the humidity on that last one I think. His cool down was about 7:15 average.

Later, at 7 PM, we met Brent, Jorge, Trevon, and Steve Shoto, an awesome runner at MSU, for a 6 mile jog through town. Pretty hot, but maybe not quite as humid. I stuck with those bozos for just over three miles, but they picked it up and I fell behind a bit. I ended up with a 7:03 pace today, which was not bad for me right now. They all averaged 6:49 for the run. After, Joseph, Trevon, and Steve got in a few nice 100m strides.

Friday, 6 AM run with the kid. Super humid, like pretty much every morn here! I only did 3.1  miles, Joseph was closer to 4. Got cleaned up and we headed to work. Later, at about 7 pm, I got a nice upper body/core workout.

Saturday, Joseph and I again joined the Boardtown Running group for a long run in the morn. The route was 11.4 miles today, and on this momentous date of my birth and now 50th birthday, I felt every mile as we ran through clouds of humidity. Amazingly hard to run today! I managed to average 7:35 per mile, but it was not easy! Ran with Robert Morgan much of the way and we pushed each other just to finish. Joseph apparently had no problem as he ran with Jorge and past resident and awesome runner Neal Hadley, who was in town for something or another. After the first easy mile at 7:20, they averaged 6:28 for the rest of the journey, with Joseph adding a bit more at the end.

A bunch of the runner jokers joined me at local bar and grill Bin 612 at 7 pm for a birthday celebration of sorts. We sat outside and enjoyed the hot, muggy air for a while.

Sunday, Morning came about and I got a really good workout in. Took about an hour and felt pretty danged good! Later, at 7 pm, Joseph and I met Brent, Lake Spradling, Jorge, and Will Kallfelz who just got back in town. Of course, it was hot and humid. Me and Will kept up with those mugs for about 2.5 miles of this 6 mile loop, then they left us. Will actually ran two miles from our house to run with us, and, of course, ran back after, getting in about 10 miles total. He been running like a crazy man lately, doing a marathon a month with some halves thrown in. I ended up averaging 7:09 today, which was not bad. Felt pretty good and finished the last couple miles sub 7. Joseph and those muggs averaged 6:49 for the route, with the last four being under 6:40. Lake, a 10th grader at Starkville Academy, looked pretty good and kept up with them fine. If that joker can come out with us regularly this summer, he will be in great shape by the fall!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

