Excellent 8 X 400m trail intervals

Well, my running blog is getting stale and boring. The darn kid has moved off and is running XC at SCAD, and well, I am running and working out regularly. But, jeesh, who cares really? Same ole thing every day or every week more or less. I think I will be blogging about this stuff less regularly, or maybe just hit the highlights. Like, yeah, I ran a bunch this week, did a bunch of pushups, ab stuff, blah, blah. Still trying to keep my sugar intake down! Have not had any caffeine in a while either. Hmm. Trippy man. Ran 10 miles this afternoon. Actually was fairly pleasant out today! Ran about 6:50 pace, no water break. Pretty easy. Knees were slightly sore today, but not bad. A bunch of girls, and a few guys even, yelled at me while I was running. Nice things. That was cool. When you are 50 years old, that puts some pep in your step.

So, whoohoo hootie hoo. But hey, awesome almost 7 mile Sunday afternoon run with Brent Wallace and Drew Boyles. Weather was still decent, so that made it easier than normal. Started out about 7:25 and everything else was was sub 7. The last 3 miles were about 6:13 pace. Overall pace was 6:36. Nice.

Another nice solo run Monday at 5:30 PM. Ran on the gravel roads of the south farm then hit the MSU XC course before heading back. They have the course mowed and runable now, so that was nice. Great to run on grassy hills eh! Unfortunately, they don’t maintain this course for most of the year. In fact, research cattle hand out there for much of the year. Crazy.

Tuesday, yep, pumped up at lunch with 4 sets of 150 pushups, 4 sets of 25 pullups, and some ab stuff. Later, 6 mile run with Brent thru town. Legs were sore from the previous day’s hills! But, we still averaged 6:39 per mile even with the first mile at 7:27. Cool.

Wednesday was awesome. Why? I did 8 X 400m on my loop trail. Hard loop, just over 400m, which I measured with a wheel. Not flat and the corners are so tight you almost have to come to a stop to round them. Yeah, that slows you down. That, and the fact that it ends on an irregular 70m uphill slope. Also, its a trail, you know, with dips and holes, roots, spider webs (first time around anyway!), and one decent ditch to jump or land in. Anyway. Yep, pretty hot too. I worked out enough at lunch, so I decided to forego my usual pushups between each 400. In fact, I am trying to force myself to work less because I have a tendency to overdo things. WHAT? ME? Yeah. 8 of those 400s. First was 1:26ish. Not really bad out here. Then rest, about 45 seconds or so, then BAM. Next one was faster, and each successive one was a bit faster until my final 400, which was 1:11! That was maybe the best one I have done on this loop ever. I don’t know what it would equate to on a track, but something nice! So. Good little workout. Only did 8, but felt good.

11 mile run this morn with the Boardtown group. Weird day, everyone started super slow. First mile was 8:02. Too slow, hurts my knees to run that slow. So, Drew Boyles, Brent Wallace, Micah White and I picked up the pace a little. Second mile was 7:01 or something, then 6:34 for the third, a couple of 6:50s on a hard gravel section, then we started grooving pretty good despite the gravel hitting 6:30s and 6:20 until finishing up with a 6:10 mile. Ended up with a 6:46 overall pace. Pretty good considering that slow first mile. Nice finish. Brent and Drew are looking good for the upcoming half marathon here in town on the 18th of October. I probably won’t do it because I am not really into races, plus I have a bunch of things going on that day already. Yep, great run though!

Sunday at 6 PM, I met some Meggan Franks and some running jokers at our usual place for a run. Meggan actually came to give us free stuff, gels and Brooks water bottles. Nice. We like stuff. Especially free stuff! Speaking of running, Meggan had a baby 3 weeks ago. She is already running 8 miles at aroud 7:40 pace. Jeepers! Amazing. Oh yeah, ran about 4.6 miles, pretty easy. Nice to run with Robert Morgan, had not run with him in a while!

Joe MacGown, Meggan Franks, Richard McCrory, Robert Morgan, John Mooney, and Brent Wallace,

Joe MacGown, Meggan Franks, Richard McCrory, Robert Morgan, John Mooney, and Brent Wallace,

Joe MacGown, Richard McCrory, Robert Morgan, John Mooney, Brent Wallace, and Clara Tew

Joe MacGown, Richard McCrory, Robert Morgan, John Mooney, Brent Wallace, and Clara Tew

Monday, I got in a nice easy 7:23 pace 8.5 mile run on the gravel roads of the MSU South Farm and MSU XC Course. The SHS XC team was out there running too, chatted with their better runners as I passed them. Good day. Beautiful weather finally!

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

